august women

When I was born my Mom had a cardiac arrest, flat lined for a few seconds but was fully revived by the grand ob-gynecologist named Dr. Gloria Aragon. Bed ridden and needing to recover badly from giving birth to me (her 10th baby & 3rd C-section) my Mom couldn't breastfeed. She said many other women (lactating Aunts, a nurse, friends of the family, and possibly strangers) donated their breast milk to newborn me. My father, some older siblings, and my Titas took shifts carrying me for minutes during the day since my Mom was terribly bed ridden. And when they left I'd hang back inside an incubator waiting for their turn to visit again. This went on, according to my Mom, for at least a quarter, maybe more. Interestingly enough, my birth month August is Breastfeeding Awareness Month - so I want to take this time out to thank the MANY women who literally nourished me. I don't know most of them- but I know this surge of gratitude I feel & the magnitude of the debt I owe. If for some inevitable reason you can't/couldn't breastfeed your baby, it's okay. While I know there are theories that breastfed babies are closer to their mothers or have more connection with them- I want to tell you that there are exceptions. I love my Mom - she is the person I love the most, she is the one I ran to for protection and guidance the most, depended on the most, learned the most from, she is the North even while many others (my late Tita Ping included) served as cardinal points in my life. The bond from breastfeeding is precious and irreplaceable, but it is not the only act that can tie children to their mothers. So take heed.  I applaud all mothers and fathers who work (for it is hard work!) to breastfeed their infants. Bravo to you all. I am not a mother and will (by now) never be one to a human - so I can just be your #1 fan.  Mabuhay ang mga Nanay!

When I was born my Mom had a cardiac arrest, flat lined for a few seconds but was fully revived by the grand ob-gynecologist named Dr. Gloria Aragon. Bed ridden and needing to recover badly from giving birth to me (her 10th baby & 3rd C-section) my Mom couldn’t breastfeed. She said many other women (lactating Aunts, a nurse, friends of the family, and possibly strangers) donated their breast milk to newborn me. My father, some older siblings, and my Titas took shifts carrying me for minutes during the day since my Mom was terribly bed ridden. And when they left I’d hang back inside an incubator waiting for their turn to visit again. This went on, according to my Mom, for at least a quarter, maybe more. Interestingly enough, my birth month August is Breastfeeding Awareness Month – so I want to take this time out to thank the MANY women who literally nourished me. I don’t know most of them- but I know this surge of gratitude I feel & the magnitude of the debt I owe.
If for some inevitable reason you can’t/couldn’t breastfeed your baby, it’s okay. While I know there are theories that breastfed babies are closer to their mothers or have more connection with them- I want to tell you that there are exceptions. I love my Mom – she is the person I love the most, she is the one I ran to for protection and guidance the most, depended on the most, learned the most from, she is the North even while many others (my late Tita Ping included) served as cardinal points in my life. The bond from breastfeeding is precious and irreplaceable, but it is not the only act that can tie children to their mothers. So take heed.
I applaud all mothers and fathers who work (for it is hard work!) to breastfeed their infants. Bravo to you all. I am not a mother and will (by now) never be one to a human – so I can just be your #1 fan.
Mabuhay ang mga Nanay!

About gangcentral

My name is (actually) Gang. View all posts by gangcentral

Leave a Reply

