Thank you, Pat Metheny

While doing relief work in response to #TyphoonHaiyanPH, our team missed the last C130 out of Tacloban last Saturday so we were forced to sleep there overnight. In a hotel where people died, no electricity nor decent running water. In total darkness, humidity (because it was close to the pier) heat, with unseen mosquitoes going at me, and the heavy blanket of the smell of non-life, I could only turn to Pat Metheny to calm me down enough to sleep on my scarf as a bed sheet and my backpack as my pillow. For some reason, he was appropriate.

Some people have other modes of seeking solace on dark nights, that night I had Pat Metheny.

3 Dec 2013

About gangcentral

My name is (actually) Gang. View all posts by gangcentral

Leave a Reply

