the sting

A Fil-Chi friend said to me last night:  “We need to display a sense of shame.”

So I thought about it.  If we jump immediately into forgiving ourselves after yesterday’s stupidity – then nothing.  Jump straight to good news, overcompensating saying, “Look we’re okay people, see?”  No. Not yet.

Sometimes I think ‘the rushing into forgiveness’ nourishes the mediocrity too.  So I say, not yet.  No forgiveness for me yet – eventually,  a resounding YES.  That is where we want to go.  All decisions must go towards the direction of forgiveness.  But again, not yet.

For now – I will feel this sting. There will be another time for the phoenix moment.

For now – SHAME, my leaders, SHAME.

-24 August 2010 Singapore
(after moderating an open forum re: the hostage incident in Manila the day before)

About gangcentral

My name is (actually) Gang. View all posts by gangcentral

4 responses to “the sting

  • Nats Lee

    There are a whole lot of lessons to be learned.

    People should be more responsible with their actions and people should also instill discipline. People couldn’t even follow simple traffice rules, like loading and unloading of jeepneys and buses, crossing of pedestrian lanes, what more can we expect !?!

    I know, Filipinos are resilient but we have to learn from our mistakes and and yes, we need to know what SHAME really is !!!

  • Nats Lee

    There are a whole lot of lessons to be learned.

    People should be more responsible with their actions and people should also instill discipline. People couldn’t even follow simple traffic rules, like loading and unloading of jeepneys and buses, crossing of pedestrian lanes, what more can we expect !?!

    I know, Filipinos are resilient but we have to learn from our mistakes and yes, we need to know what SHAME really is !!!

  • blackwatertown

    Interesting blog.
    I would have left a comment on your sex education post, but the comments were closed. Which is a shame, though I guess you felt you had good reason to close them.
    Anyway – I thought it was a good and useful contribution.

  • Mauel

    Hi Gang. Stumbled upon this site while googling for “Noynoy Porsche”. You have a nice little corner here. Let me know of any RockEd gigs.

Leave a Reply

